AnMed Chosen for Vista Award
Wednesday, March 23, 2011 at 8:44PM

AnMed Health Medical Center was one of three hospitals to receive a 2011 Vista Award from The American Society for Healthcare Engineering (ASHE) of the American Hospital Association (AHA). 

The awards were presented during the 2011 International Summit & Exhibition on Health Facility Planning, Design & Construction™ (PDC) in Tampa. Established in 1993, the Vista Awards are a national mark of distinction and recognize the importance of teamwork in health care design and construction. Awards are given in three categories: new construction, renovation and infrastructure.

The following organizations are the 2011 recipients of the award for their respective category:

New Construction — SSM St. Clare Medical Center in St. Louis

This award is presented to an organization that has constructed a new facility essentially from the ground up. The new facility may be connected to an existing facility, but the building must have its own identity and be a new space.

Renovation — Aspirus Wausau Hospital Neonatal Intensive Care Unit in Wausau, Wis.

This award is presented to an organization that has altered existing conditions or added new space to existing structures. The original building envelope remains essentially intact. 

Infrastructure AnMed Health Medical Center electrical system upgrades in Anderson, S.C. 

This award is presented to an organization that has modified or replaced major portions of the utility generation, distribution or control systems involving significant project planning.

“The Vista Award is unique in that it recognizes a team working together with an ultimate goal of designing and developing a healing environment,” said Dana Swenson, chair of the 2011 Vista Awards Task Force. “By sharing a common vision and stated goals, each of these teams worked together and overcame challenges presented along the way. The teams recognized this year supported one another, but those who will benefit most from the team’s hard work are the people who will use and work at the facilities.”

For more details on the 2011 Vista Award recipients and information on the 2012 Vista Award program, visit

Article originally appeared on The Anderson Observer (
See website for complete article licensing information.