Search Amazon Here

News Links
« New Schools Earn EPA Honor for Energy Efficiency | Main | Dist. 5 Teacher Finalist for National Teacher Award »

New Middle Schools Schedule Parent Meetings  

District Five’s two new middle schools have scheduled informational meetings for parents whose children will be attending the schools at the start of the 2011-2012 school year. 

The Parents’ Meeting for Robert Anderson Middle School will be held on Tuesday, April 26th at 6 p.m. in the Westside High School Commons Area.

Glenview Middle School will hold its Parents’ Meeting for rising Seventh and Eighth Grade on Monday, May 2nd at 6:30 p.m. in the new Auditorium at Calhoun Academy of the Arts. Parents of rising sixth graders will meet on Thursday, May 5th at 6:30 p.m. in the Calhoun Auditorium. 

The two new middle schools will begin operations at the start of the 2011-2012 school year. Classes will begin on Tuesday, August 16th.

Evelyn Murphy has been named Principal of Robert Anderson Middle School, which is located on Dobbins Bridge Road. Walter Mayfield has been named Principal of Glenview Middle School, which is located on Old Williamston Road.

The two new middle schools are nearing completion. Their construction is part of District Five’s $140 million bond issuance, which was approved by more than 60 percent of voters in an April 2007 referendum.  

Glenview will relieve overcrowding at the current McCants Middle School.  Robert Anderson will replace the current Southwood Middle School and will draw students from both Southwood and Lakeside middle schools.  The current Southwood school will become Southwood Academy of the Arts for the 2011-2012 school year as it transitions into a 6-12 grade arts magnet school.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>