Dist. 5 Teacher of the Year; Other Awards
Thursday, August 11, 2011 at 8:38AM

Curtis Smith, a social studies teacher beginning his third year in District Five, was named 2011-2012 District Teacher of the Year at today's Back-to-School Celebration held at T.L. Hanna High School. 

Mr. Smith was named Teacher of the Year at Southwood Middle School last spring. He will teach this year at the new Robert Anderson Middle School.

A graduate of Bob Jones University with a B.A. in political science, Mr. Smith earned his master's degree in Social Studies at Clemson University. 

The finalists for District Teacher of the Year, in addition to Mr. Smith, were Candice Stanzione of Homeland Park Elementary School and Jennifer Woody of New Prospect Elementary School. Both were named Teachers of the Year at their respective schools.

Particularly noteworthy this year is that our Teachers of the Year on the school level include two married couples: Candice and Chris Stanzione and Casey and Lee Cromer.

The complete list of Teachers of the Year at the District's individual schools is as follows:

Calhoun Academy of the Arts - Lee Cromer

Centerville Elementary School - Kevin Roper

Concord Elementary School, an International Baccalaureate World School - Michelle Swann

Homeland Park Elementary School - Candice Stanzione

McLees Academy of Leadership - Charlie Davis

Midway Elementary School of Science and Engineering - Sarah Malemezian

Nevitt Forest Community School of Innovation - Nicole Torbert

New Prospect Elementary School - Jennifer Woody

Varennes Academy of Communications and Technology - Cheryl Archie

Whitehall Elementary School - Casey Cromer

Lakeside Middle School of Inquiry and Innovation - Kim Wood

McCants Middle School, an International Baccalaureate Candidate School - Jan Mundy

Southwood Middle School - Curtis Smith

Anderson V Career Campus - Jenny O'Brien

T.L. Hanna High School, an International Baccalaureate World School - Camille Mitchell

Westside High School, an Early College Academy - Chris Stanzione

South Fant Early Childhood and Education Center - Judi Manning

West Market Early Childhood and Education Center - Denise King

The District also named its Employees of the Year in seven categories. They are:

Adult Education - Stephanie Strickland

Food Service - Joyce Parnell, Centerville

Maintenance - Marvin Crawley

Custodial - Reba Childress, Westside

Transportation - Peggye Robinson

Instructional Support Staff - Jane Jarrett, T.L. Hanna

Non-Instructional Support Staff - Curren Groves, McLees

Article originally appeared on The Anderson Observer (http://andersonobserver.com/).
See website for complete article licensing information.