New Council Sworn in at Year's First Meeting
Tuesday, January 8, 2019 at 6:52PM

Two new Anderson County council members were sworn in Tuesday night, as part of the first meeting of the new year. Anderson Council Council Chairman Tommy Dunn and Anderson County Council Vice-Chairman Ray GrahamTwo new Anderson County Councilmen were sworn in Tuesday night. Brett Sanders, left, now represents district four, and Jimmy Davis, right, now represents district six. were also re-elected to lead council in the year ahead. 

Anderson County Councilman Brett Sanders took over the District Four seat which has been held by Tom Allen, who retired from the post. Sanders said he is looking forward to serving the county and hopes to help small businesses.  

Anderson County Councilman Jimmy Davis, who defeated former District Six Councilman Ken Waters in the GOP primary last year. Davis said he thinks the county is moving in a good direction and that he wants to help citizens better understand what is going on in local government.

Both councilmen have been attending council meetings for several month in preparation of their new roles. Both thanked their predecessors for their service to the county and for making their transitions smooth.

Article originally appeared on The Anderson Observer (
See website for complete article licensing information.